NT Round Table Alumni Report


A report published by the NT Office of Youth Affairs on the history of Youth Round Table spanning the foundation as the Chief Ministers Youth Round Table 1997 to 2017. The Report titled 'Where are they now Alumni Report 1997-2017. The year 2017 marked 20 years of the NT Youth Round Table (previously known as the Chief Minister’s Round Table and the Youth Minister’s Round Table); the 20 year anniversary highlighted the importance of the consultation process between young people and the Territory Government of the day. Since its inception and foundation by Shane Stone in 1997, up until 2017 over 300 members had been involved in numerous activities, committees and projects. Each year, 16 members aged between 15-25 years are selected to take part in the Round Table. Members are representative of the geographic, cultural and ethnic diversity in the Northern Territory. The Round Table provides an opportunity for young people to have their views about issues that interest them heard by Government. Members consult and advise various government departments, community groups and other organisations on key initiatives and strategies as well as lead a community-based project throughout their 12-month term. Consistent with his ongoing interest in youth affairs Shane Stone post parliament served as the National President of the Duke of Edinburgh Award in Australia, documented in these Archives.

Download   PDF / 10 MB

Can you help us by providing additional information about this item?