Chief Minister's Reception Darwin Cup 1998

1 August 1998

Reception hosted by Chief Minister Shane Stone Parliament House Darwin in support of the Carlton Darwin Cup. The Darwin Cup Carnival is one of the signature sporting events on the Northern Territory calendar. The Darwin Cup Ball is the premier NT social event of the year dating from its inception. The Darwin Turf Club was formed with a fanfare of trumpets in May 1955, with the stage being set for the running of the first Darwin Cup on Saturday October 20 1956. The first Darwin Cup winner at Fannie Bay was Satan's Son, owned, trained and ridden by Peter McCracken. The 1988 Bicentennial Darwin Cup was the first $100,000 race staged in the NT, an impressive turnaround for the Darwin Turf Club virtually decimated by Cyclone Tracey 15 years before. The Darwin Turf Club enjoyed unprecedented financial support from successive CLP Governments dating from Self Government. Former Chief Minister Marshall Perron, Terry Kirk, Cherry Perron and Holly Morgan.

Download   JPEG / 278 KB

Can you help us by providing additional information about this item?