Surrey Hills Liberal Branch Report

January 1986

Shane Stone served as the President of the Liberal Party Surrey Hills Branch Melbourne Victoria. A chance meeting with Northern Territory's first Chief Minister Paul Everingham convinced Shane to chance his hand on a political career in the NT as averted to in his branch report. Contrary to popular myth Shane Stone never stood for Liberal Party pre-selection in Victoria or elsewhere. He contested National Party pre-selection for North Eastern Province strongly encouraged by retiring member the Honourable Keith Bradbury MLC and was defeated by Bill Baxter in 1977 who went onto win the Province. The local member referred to in the branch report was Jeffrey Gibb Kennett. Phil Barresi later Federal Member for Deakin succeeded Shane Stone as Branch President in 1986.

Download   PDF / 2.83 MB

Can you help us by providing additional information about this item?