Territory Day 1996

1 July 1996

Territorians, those who identify as citizens of Australia’s Northern Territory, celebrate Territory Day on 1 July. This date marks the Northern Territory achieving self-government (from the Commonwealth) on 1 July 1978. This is the only day of the year, apart from the Chinese New Year and New Year's Eve, when fireworks are permitted notwithstanding the Darwin Kalymnian community celebrate Greek Easter with dynamite. Territory Day was also a date for naturalizations of new citizens of Australia. Chief Minister Shane Stone at podium. Seated Mrs. Lorraine Martin, Chief Justice Brian Martin AO MBE, Lord Mayor George Brown and Mrs. Brown, Administrator Hon Austin Asche AC QC, Dr. Vale Asche and Mrs. Josephine Stone far left.

Download   JPEG / 1.49 MB

Can you help us by providing additional information about this item?