Investiture of Ruth Whitford VM and Wayne Harris VM

Investiture of Senior Constable Ruth Whitford VM by Police Commissioner Brian Bates APM. In June 1996 four police officers were shot and wounded in a conflict with a gunman Dion Yost outside the Palmerston Police Station. One officer was shot in the buttock, one in the shoulder and the female officer was shot in the chest. Arising from this incident a number of police officers received the NT Police Valour Medal including Senior Constable Ruth Whitford VM. Also, a recipient of the VM photographed next to Ruth, Senior Seargent Wayne Harris VM. The Valour Medal is awarded by the Commissioner of Police to a member for displaying exceptional bravery in extremely perilous circumstances or who acts courageously and responsibly in the face of potential or actual danger to their life and will take the form of a framed certificate and an ornamental medal and bar to be worn as an unofficial honour. Senior Constable Ruth Whitford VM Reg. No.1951 passed away on 25 May 2014. Ruth was a Member of the NT Police Force dating from 11 July 1988 until 12 July 2012. Ruth was a first cousin to Shane Stone (Pam Stone nee Devine | Shirley Whitford nee Devine). NT Police Valor Medal and NT Police Service Medal

Download   JPEG / 57.2 KB

Can you help us by providing additional information about this item?